ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Good to be Back

Last time I was in the gym was Thursday 19th March. I’d completed my weekly programme and was then taking a day off before a PT session booked for Saturday 21st March. Except, driving home on Friday evening, we got the news that gyms were closed with immediate effect. Got a text when I arrived home, from my trainer, confirming the session was cancelled until.....well, who knew when!
Tried to stay fit during lockdown, but really missed the weights. There was one positive in that I started running and this has now definitely become my go to exercise for cardio work, rather than the treadmill or static bike. Bit of an issue with my knee presently, but I’ve already had advice as to what I can do to strengthen it now I can get back in the gym, so hope to be out on the roads again soon.
So, how was the gym experience today? All the usual things you’d expect in these times like online booking only, maintaining safe distances, no access to changing facilities and sanitising everything. Some equipment out of use to maintain the distances but staff happy to advise how to do the same exercise on alternative kit. Only 12 allowed in at any one time and you have to wait outside until your allotted hour and exit after 45 minutes to allow for a full clean before the next group come in.
But, in all honesty, it didn’t feel too different. I’d always tried to go to the gym when it was quiet anyway and never had a problem cleaning everything after use, so it just felt a lot like a quiet, pre-lockdown workout with added hazard tape and hand sanitiser!
I’ll need to plan how to fit my existing programme into the three sessions we’re allowed each week but, for now, it was just great to be back and working out. Even if I did have to drop all the weights - I seem to have lost a lot of strength in the last four months!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.