ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Good Day Sunshine

I would have left it at just the title today as it summed up the day - it was good and there was sunshine. However, the announcement re putting the brakes on easing at lunchtime made it not such a good day after all. And the fact that it’s now clouding over (but not getting any cooler) means the sunshine bit doesn’t really apply any more!
But it started off well. The guarantee of no rain at all this morning meant I could confidently put the roof down on the car and actually enjoy the sunshine and fresh air whilst driving around. But, my God, it was busy on the roads first thing. Travel reports on the radio mentioned long queues on the M5 heading south and the M6 heading north. If those latter cars are headed to the Lakes (which seems likely) I can tell them it’s pretty full already and I hope they’ve all got accommodation pre-booked.
With the traffic even heavier on the way home, I kind of get why Boris has put the brake on. If all those people I passed are heading out and about in places like Bowness and Ambleside tonight, then it’s going to be pretty crowded. And if the rain does arrive this weekend, that’s going to drive them indoors, making the situation worse. Let’s hope that today’s news will make people pause and think about maintaining a safe distance when they’re out and about rather than just trusting to luck that they won’t come into contact with the virus.
Me? I’ll be doing what I do every summer, avoiding the tourist hotspots like the plague - an expression that is scarily apt this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.