Homegrown

The black king's grown potatoes
and now he's pleased as Punch:
"We'll have them boiled with butter.
They'll make a tasty lunch."

"Homegrown is best," the queen agrees,
"but please don't tell the pawns,
or they will scoff the lot of them --
say we've been mowing lawns!

At that the king laughs heartily:
"My dear, you are quite right.
Same goes for rooks and bishops
and, I have to say, each knight!"

So, just for once, the king and queen
decide to lunch alone,
each sitting, as seems fitting,
on a fancy dining-throne.

And do they do the washing up
(A task each chessman hates)?
Of course they don't; they call the dog
and let him lick their plates.

© Celia Warren 2020


My Extra shows my total potato harvest to date, with more to come anon. Not bad for simply sticking in a couple of sprouting spuds from my bag of Lidl potatoes! Thanks to KangaZu for hosting the August Silly Saturday challenge in memory of blipper admirer. If you haven't met my chessmen before, click on the tag to see more of their adventures.

Had a very productive day of, um, spring-cleaning (!) Well, I know it's August, but I had a cough in the spring ... But all is well now as I remembered to say "White Rabbits" when I awoke this morning.

Hope you're having a lovely weekend, blipmates.

A reminder to myself: Today, on her daddy's birthday, Little Miss B took her first solo steps (and her mum sent us a video). She was so close last week, we knew it wouldn't be long. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.