Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Drift

I've been neglecting the southern end of the moor of late, so thought I would rectify that with a walk out along Green Lane to Hope Gate before following the moor edge around to Crook and dropping down to Shipley Glen.

There were lots of Small Heath butterflies out on the moor (extra), more even than the Meadow Brown. A very delicate Small Fan-footed Wave moth (extra) was a first for me, although they're common enough (if you set moth traps).

After picking up a coffee at the tea room I walked the length of the Glen along Brackenhall Green, crossed over Lodepit Beck at the bridge and returned along the other side of the valley. I didn't realise that the return route was supposed to be closed but managed to sneak through without incurring wrath.

I called in at Trench Meadows before heading back up the hill home. This impressive drift of Harebell provided my favourite scene of the day.

And a quick postscript to mark Harrogate Town's play-off final victory and promotion to the Football League for the first time. When I first visited their ground a few years back they were still in National League North; they've made rapid and impressive progress since then. Their success means they'll need to dig up their pitch next week as artifical surfaces aren't allowed in the EFL. It will be fun seeing them face up in League Two against Bradford City next season, even if I can't actually get into the grounds to see the games.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.