Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Beautiful morning

I came down here this morning to blip the dead alder in the foreground. I had meant to show just the trunk and the water but in the end, with the willow twigs all turning orange for spring, dead seemed wrong - and I couldn't resist sharing this view of the whole width of the Itchen and the way you walk along a wonderful path in the middle of the river.

To add to the slight surrealness (surreality??) there are wonderful hummocks of what I think is a kind of sedge but could equally well be germinating monsters. You can see some where the light hits the path behind the tree, but there are many more round the bend out of sight to the right.

And to add to the total perfection of this stretch of river, it's very close to The Bush, one of the best pubs in Hampshire, and therefore the world (not that I'm a complete Hampshirephile, but it does do pubs particularly well)..

Enjoy the weekend, Peeps and hope to talk to you later, but now I need to imbibe a strong cup of coffee and a couple of headache pills. Oh, and to unpack the shopping - it has, after all, been rather a long day since I bliptime!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.