The August Skipper

A 22 species walk - what a start to the week! The spaniel and I trekked up the steep chalk path of Warningore Bostal this morning surrounded by Chalkhill Blue butterflies. In the 15 minutes it takes to walk to the top I counted 294 just on one side of the path. We also encountered more Clouded Yellows as well as Adonis Blue, Brown Argus, Common Blue, Small Blue, Large White, Marbled White, Dark Green Fritillary, Gatekeeper, Meadow Brown and Small Heath. In Ashcombe Bottom I added Green-veined White, Brimstone, Speckled Wood, Small Skipper, Red Admiral, Ringlet, Silver-washed Fritillary, Peacock and Comma to the list. And finally at the very bottom of the Bottom I found six Silver-spotted Skippers. They are really difficult to photograph - being very small and very fast - especially when you leave your long lens at home. Eventually I found a female busy egg laying and was able to get close enough for a reasonable photograph. Petiver didn't come across this species so the earliest names I can find are Pearl Skipper (Harris, 1775) and the August Skipper (Lewin, 1795). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.