Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

It’s back!

We popped down early (spot JR) for a spin (I use the term lightly) on the Links - those are the putting greens, not alien crop circles. I still can’t get started again while on any kind of slight slope. But I’m getting pretty smooth at stopping, most times.

Monday is my Body Street torture day, which I actually sort of look forward to. It’s only 20 minutes, so I can cope. I walked round there after my bike ride, and from there I took the bus into town a) to get a Prêt soya flat white, and b) to get some Lakeland licorice, which is nearby.

I had a most splendid coffee (haven’t had one for ages) - how come they serve it hot, when lots of places insist on serving tepid flat whites? I went to sit in the gardens, and when I checked my bus app (I love that) I could see it was arriving in 2 minutes, but I got there on time.

JR and Archie had been in the Hermitage and met our new neighbours at the duck pond. They’ve just come back from two years in Vancouver, where we should be right at this moment. Mum was with the two wee boys, one still a baby.

I’ve rung the vet about proof of Archie’s up-to-date inoculations (for possible future doggy day care), only to find out that he missed his kennel cough jab during lockdown, so he’s getting it this week. 

Also, the music playlists problem is sorted. I kept checking it every so often, hoping that there was just a delay after I’d paid for iTunesMatch. Yes, it’s back! I’ve got playlists of favourite music I’ve collected for years, so I want to keep them - don’t need Spotify, and anyway, I’ve got Amazon Music with my Prime membership. I’ve only got an old computer, with a very out of date OS, but I never use it now that I’m not working. But there are some things you can only do on computer (eg downloading music). Quite annoying, Apple.

A nice lady in Cycling Scotland has put me in touch with a cycling instructor in Edinburgh, so hopefully we can arrange a lesson (or two or three) soon. And I’ve just found out they’re free (funded!).

Don’t feel up to struggling to get the bikes into the car boot. Another day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.