ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Dentist!

Got a free gift from the dentist this morning. Well, I say free but a quick scale and polish from the hygienist, followed by a check up and a couple of X-rays from the dentist set me back £130!!
My dentist stopped doing NHS work towards the end of last year. I tried to find a new one before the January check up, but it seemed there were no dentists in Kendal accepting new NHS patients at that time. And - surprise, surprise - definitely none nowadays. In fact, I was quite amazed the check up did go ahead. It’s the only appointment for anything that was booked pre COVID that has actually taken place on the scheduled date. Interestingly, Mrs C’s dentist (NHS) is only doing emergency work. You pays your money (a lot of money!) and you takes your choice.
Not that I’ve got anything against the practice staff. I’m the worlds biggest baby when it comes to going to the dentist, and they do try and make me feel relaxed but, at times, it does veer over to them treating me like a six year old, only just stopping short of telling me I’m being a brave boy (I was!!)
It seems I could have spent a lot more though. I had to fill out an eight page questionnaire online before my appointment and four of those pages were devoted to how happy I was with my smile, my teeth, my gums and my face generally. “Very” was my reply to all of those. Not saying I couldn’t benefit from a bit of a facial refurb, it’s just that I’d probably have to sell a kidney to pay for it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.