ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

On the Border

With my knee feeling a lot stronger, I took advantage of being back in Chester for a couple of days to go for a nice flat run. I was quite surprised when I was only 2K in to the run to find a sign saying “Croeso i Gymru” (Welcome to Wales). When we lived here, I was convinced that the River Dee was the border between England and Wales, but closer examination of the map shows quite a bit of land on “our” side of the river is actually in Wales. Probably quite lucky I didn’t try this route a couple of weeks ago as I think I’d have technically been guilty of breaching the Welsh lockdown rules as they weren’t at the same stage of easing as England at that time.
Not sure how those who live round here have coped over the last few months as I’m fairly certain that a lot of people will have been used to crossing the border on a daily basis, either travelling to work or going shopping. Even now there are still differences. Go to one supermarket (in England) and you have to wear a mask. Travel a couple of miles down the road to another branch of the same supermarket and masks not mandatory as it’s in Wales.
I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, we would be better off with a single set of U.K. guidelines so that everyone knows where they’re at and we don’t get politicians points scoring off each other.
Still, after 8 kilometres I was safely back in England, albeit with a very sore knee. Might have been a bit ambitious with today’s efforts and have a feeling I’ll pay for it tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.