Fly Like an Eagle

Driving through Sedbergh this afternoon we were waved at by a friend going the other way. We pulled over for a chat and spotted two F-15 Eagles flying overhead, quite slowly. A few minutes later one of them reappeared, flying considerably lower and faster, before pulling a steep turn to disappear behind the Howgills. Knowing the second one would be following closely behind, I grabbed my phone but couldn’t get it zoomed in quickly enough, hence the somewhat small image!
The joiner reappeared this morning. We thought he’d been busy with another job or waiting for the wardrobe doors to be in stock, but it transpired his wife had tested positive for Covid and he’d had to isolate for ten days, in spite of testing negative himself. Playing catch up with his jobs now, so he wanted to get all the little bits left in our house finished off today. Which he did, so we should be able to finally put everything into the new wardrobe, once a few last bits of trim have been varnished. There is still a laundry basket and some shelves to install in the bedroom, but he will build everything up in the workshop so it should just be a case of slotting it all in to position in due course (he hopes in a week or so).
The reason we were in Sedbergh, was to see if we could sell some old books we’d found when clearing out my late father’s study. An email last week had ascertained that most were of no interest, but some Enid Blyton books, that were first editions, could be worth something. Whilst they were being examined, we had a look around the shop. Lots of old and interesting books and I spotted a Bill Bryson I hadn’t read. After telling me that the Enid Blyton books in good condition (they weren’t) with intact dust jackets (long since disappeared) would be worth a considerable amount of money, I was offered £20! The book I was buying was marked up at £6.50, so the final deal was £15 plus the Bill Bryson book.
I was happy with that. Books that might otherwise have ended up in recycling have a chance of being appreciated by someone else. I have a book I’ve been wanting to read for some time. And I’ve got £15 in my wallet.
Add in a nice drive out in the sun, a catch up with a friend I’d not seen for many months plus the sight of two F-15s hurtling overhead, and it all adds up to a cracking day out, as Wallace would say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.