New reality day 6

Day spent mostly in IKEA.

Not my favorite kind of a day, but needed to be done. Now that we have the van, we need to make use of it. We didn't have that huge list, but I needed some help with the walk-in-closet pieces (it's not gonna be as fancy as you see in pictures), so that took some time. Then when I was collecting the pieces that I needed to pick up from the storage area, I lost the order for the pieces that I was supposed to pick up from the order desk. Then I needed to queue for help. They were very helpful but at first they printed out an order that was missing the hinges. Luckily my husband noticed that I went to the desk again and they printed all the pieces. We hope. We'll see tomorrow when we build it. First we need to finish the floor of the room.

I saw this cute cat / little dog nest at IKEA, so I had to get it for Buddha. He likes to rest in a nest. This fits their standard Kallax shelfs. My husband was very doubtful, but B seems to enjoy it.

We also went to the hardware store to pick up some tools and paint. I actually saw this petrol colored sample and decided to change the color from middle grey to petrol. I love it. That's the color for the guestroom. And then I bought the very dark grey which I will use to paint the fireplace and hopefully the window frames of the big windows of the dining area and living room.

From IKEA I bought one pretty cool ceiling lamp for our bedroom, and our hallway furniture. Some bathroom furniture, mirrors... Oh and the bed to the guestroom, which I'm also painting with the petrol color.

Tomorrow we hopefully get the walk in closet done and I can store some stuff there from other rooms.

I have to say that it feels funny being in a country where nearly everyone looks like me. I'm so used to being one of the odd ones out and now being the majority it feels weird. I assume I'll get used to it in a short time. It's just that everyone looks so familiar, that I and my husband think we should know these people we see, even when they are total strangers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.