Lock Up Your Ladybirds!

The Harlequins are here and they are riddled with the Ladybird-Clap and are very keen to pass it on to the locals!

Harlequin Ladybirds were introduced over here as a form of pest control. They hibernate through the winter here like ours do, and on waking are quite happy to eat and/or mate with native ladybirds, giving them Laboulbenia - a ladybird STI that is a type of fungus!

I took this photo in the Arboretum this afternoon having spent most of the morning doing housework! I have not visited my folks today as Jae is now back to work. and can't fetch me. The train service is still not back to normal and I daren't rely on buses as they are running a very reduced capacity to ensure social distancing, and there are no guarantees they will be able to pick passengers up along the route if they are already at capacity! So now I have to fit my visits around Jae's work schedule.

So I got the housework done and the Tesco shop too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.