shropshirelady

By shropshirelady

The Book of Knowledge

This set of children’s encyclopaedias was my husband’s 11th birthday present in 1955. He loved these books and says he read them from cover to cover. In the days of very little television and no iPads, I can see how they would have entertained him.
We have been clearing out our house for months, well in fact, years, and my husband said it was time to get rid of these.
I put them on our local Freecycle but no luck. I rang our local Oxfam bookshop that takes anything. “No thank you”, they said, “nobody reads things like this nowadays”. My husband was pretty sad as these had meant a lot to him. Yesterday evening, I got a message from a mummy on Freecycle saying she had just seen our post and please may she have the books for her 10 year old daughter who just loves reading about anything and everything. As you can imagine my husband was delighted. They came and collected the books today and I gather the little girl has had her head in the books since she received them!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.