A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Get In Line

I rolled out of bed this morning, threw on a pair of shorts and laced up my sneakers. I grabbed a small paring knife before going outside and headed for the garden. If I didn’t pick that one zucchini before we left to do errands, it would be the size of our house when we got back. No kidding, they grow that quickly • Cradling the zucchini I sleepily returned to the house. I’m not sure what caused me to look up, but I did, and there they were, all lined up, waiting for the cafeteria to open • Now downstairs, I decided to tend to the birds before feeding the cats or making coffee. Three young bluejays perched in the lilacs awaited my arrival and immediately began squawking for their beloved peanuts when I stepped out onto the patio. I could hear the pigeons cooing overhead on the roof. They watched as I spread seed across the front lawn. Not far away, three wallenda brothers stood like meerkats in the perennial bed hoping I’d retreat sooner than later • Yes, the cafeteria is now open for business!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.