karisfitch

By karisfitch

Gardening & Grace

“If God wrote me a letter about what He sees in me, it would say...

She tells lies a lot, can be mean and abusive. Loves me but doesn’t really show it even though she reads her Bible and prays.

Try harder.

Lots of love,
God”

- Extract from Charlene’s journal in “Chosen, the Story of Charlene Barr”.

Started reading this book, given to me by a friend’s Mum. Written by a family friend of theirs, who lost his adopted sister Charlene at the age of 20, after a long battle with Cystic Fibrosis. He chose to be honest in telling her story, bravely sharing the difficult details of her struggles - particularly in accepting love.

It’s heartbreaking reading an excerpt like this, wanting desperately to tell this child that this isn’t how God sees her. But knowing just how easy it is to believe it, and how often I do.

Spent the morning with Granny and Granda, doing some more weeding in their garden. Granny saw me trying to get rid of every last one I could find, in the tiniest cracks - and told me not to worry. Not every single little weed needs dealt with today. I wonder if God sometimes sees us trying to deal with every single fault in our lives in one day. And if He would tell us the same thing - to be patient, not to worry.

Gratefuls:
- Good chats with my Dad this evening.
- Bringing the cassette player down, and listening to an old tape of his on faith.
- Catching up with a good friend, who is always so excited to talk about that very subject.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.