FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Pipe Burst

At 3am this morning a water pipe burst in the road outside the property. I thought it was strange this morning when my microwave clock was flashing and my water pressure was (almost) non-existent.

Throughout the morning workmen made a racket on the road outside. It was difficult to concentrate on my work with all the commotion but I had several calls during the morning so it wasn’t until lunchtime I had the opportunity to venture outside and see what was going on.

I found a man with a clipboard pacing on his mobile phone at the end of the drive. Next to him was a large hole in the ground, barriers and a ROAD CLOSED sign. I noticed the driveway gravel was churned up and soggy. It turned out there was a massive pipe burst in the night which had flooded onto the driveway and flooded several properties include my neighbour’s basement which was flooded by 4ft of water destroying her office and spare room.

The electricity and water was intermittent all afternoon and the noise grew worse as the water board reps pumped out the flooded water from downstairs. I hoped to escape to work somewhere else but the earliest I had access to safely drive out was 430pm.

The village cafe was by then closed and it was too late to go to the council offices so I opted for a table in the shade in the pub garden. I tried to work for an hour or so but my friend kept talking and the phone kept ringing.

A pleasant evening dining al fresco in the communal garden. I cooked dinner for my neighbour with the flooded flat and she was most grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.