Friendship...

This was waiting for me when I got home from work tonight. I love, love, love getting random nonsense post. Thank you FT... it's a beautiful, homemade card and I loved what you wrote and love it more because you made it! x

"We'll be Friends Forever, won't we, Pooh?' asked Piglet.
Even longer,' Pooh answered."
A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh


Over the last while I've had people say some lovely things to me. There's a part of me that thinks it's a bit like... um... wanky blowing my own trumpet to share but one day I'll come back and read these blips and by then I'll have stored these things in the safe forgotten place that is my memory and I shall feel my heart smile to the moon and back all over again.

After some words of wisdom disclaimer: any advice I ever give you, take at your own risk... there are no guarantees I'm not talking shite! she said: You're made of every part that friends should be made of ;)) i luff you, you are sooo wise ;)) thanks. that helped a lot. xx Such a lovely thing to say and I'm glad to have helped, even a little bit.

The best friendships are the effortless ones, the ones that flow, when you've not seen each other in way too long but you just pick up where you left off as though you saw each other the previous week. Catching up with what's going on or just chewing the fat about nothing... those are the sort of friendships that I cherish.

However, it made me think that I probably don't tell my friends I love them often enough. I like to think I show it though, in my own sometimes speshal way. If I bake you a cake it's because I think you're ace. If I send you nonsense in the post it's because I want to make you smile. If I screw up my face when you blow me a kiss, it's because I want to catch it and keep it forever. If I forget to call you then it's because I have a terrible memory. So to my friends, I love you loads.

My challenge to you is to go make a card, write a letter, pick up a postcard and send it via snail mail to someone you love, even if it goes through the post and ends up back in your own house (unless it's addressed to yourself, in which case you're even more speshal than me and you should win a prize!), for the smile it creates, it's worth the stamp! Life should be about nonsense post arriving to cheer your day. Go cheer someone's day!

And to the person who told me today that I am a massive gin and tonic in human form... I thank you and take this opporchancity to remind you that you are a massive gin and tonic in virtual form to many, many people every day. Don't you ever change! x

Oh... and simply, I couldn't decide which quote to use, I'm having them both just because I can. My journal, my rules.

"Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind. "Pooh?" he whispered.
"Yes, Piglet?"
"Nothing," said Piglet, taking Pooh's hand. "I just wanted to be sure of you."
A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh


68 sleeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.