Windfall apple.

I went into the summerhouse early this morning before breakfast with a mug of tea..
It was a bit chilly to sit outside even in my dressing gown.
I like to, what I call,  "re-balance" myself there. 
 A quiet place to think and pray.
Since coming home from seeing the family on Saturday the familiar feeling of loss of our lives as they used to be swept over me.
At least we can go and see them, where others cannot yet do so, but it now depends on the weather. We can only go if it it will be a fine day (not being able to go into their home.)  
   Some days it can almost feel "normal" even having to don the wretched masks. (i know they are necessary)
I sat and watched the birds just going about their lives completely unaware of their quiet spectator.  
The Great Spotted woodpecker came to the nut feeder in the apple tree and I had a great view from a few feet away as it is quite close by, as he  tap tap tapped away with great gusto! 
There were Long-tailed tits with their tinkling calls flitting about in the rowan and then the apple tree, but they are so elusive to catch on camera. 
Coal tits, and blue tits followed at intervals.
Our robin, I like to think of him as "ours",  made several attempts on the nuts, but then went off elsewhere. 
   At this time of year there is no longer a sense of "summer" but a sense of things sliding to autumn. 
The fields where we walk have now been mown and there are hay-bales scattered about in their barrel like bundles. 
   Time for me to step back in to the day.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.