The long way home.

Sunset as we were nearing home after our 109 mile drive back from Bristol visiting our family for the day.
The motorways (M5 and M42) were not really busy today.
Our last bit on the A roads passes The Belfry Hotel and Golf Complex.
I so loved the cuddles with our 4 month old granddaughter Bonnie Grace, who is a very smiley baby and at the stage where she is trying to “talk”. Love it!
We played hide and seek with the other three, then Libby taught me how to make “loom band” bracelets, whilst the other two were variously making Lego models, or playing with grandad.
They love to hear what it was like in the house where I was born and lived till I was 13 and we moved with my sister and parents to a 3 bedroom semi council house with an inside toilet! Up till then ours was down the yard!
No central heating then just coal fires in the grate, where you could sit and watch the flames creating glowing embers where I imagined red hot caverns between the burning nuggets.
I also fascinated them by explaining we had a Tippler toilet in the outhouse of my first home. These consisted of the actual ceramic toilet which stood on the flagged floor, which had a long drop down to a pan at the bottom. This tipped when it became full, so the contents were then deposited in the drain which ran along the length of the row of houses to be connected to a sewer.
When you looked down the toilet it was like looking down a deep well. I hated it! Because if the pan tipped at the bottom whilst you were sitting on the seat, it made a weird noise!
Sammy then made a drawing of it based on my description and it was uncannily accurate.
I drew them a picture of our backyard as it used to be, with the outhouse at the bottom.
We set out for home when they were all ready for bed.
It was a beautiful evening with lovely skies along the way.
Time for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.