Chinatown

My first trip to London since I passed through on arrival to the UK in March. In fact thinking back I haven’t been in London since August last year at the tail end of my previous trip, when Tim and I listened to 90s pop classics on Spotify instead of going out. Those halcyon days of unfettered movement.

I would have liked to experience central London in eerie lockdown, which I’m told was an interesting place to stroll, at least while everything was shut. My friend Giles, who I was visiting, had a spiritual nighttime moment with a load of swans at the Serpentine. In case this lockdown lark has been a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, I’ll have to soak up those experiences vicariously and pass on my own of exploring Cambridge when the city was in museum mode.

In Soho, Chinatown and Leicester Square the vibe was still quieter than normal, and it was excellent devouring a socially distanced (with hazard tape adorning some of the seats) fry-up in one of the few establishments in Soho that isn’t a lactose-free ice cream parlour or vaping store.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.