Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Wednesday and mixed media challenge.
It took me a while to find creativity today. The mood board for August is wonderful with orange/rust and grey as main colours. There's even a Robin among the pictures. :) 
My acrylic paint, red ochre, had disappeared, so I looked for that and my creativity at the same time. I found the colour and continued to look on Pinterest to see if a spark was ignited. And I found a mixed media page that gave my brain a creative kick. It was nothing like the one I made at all. Funny that.
Todays challenge for page nr 1 was just to follow the mood board colours and get inspired from shapes and pictures, then do what we wanted. The colours are a little bit off. The paper is white, but it's so dark outside now and the lamp is creating a warmer light than daylight, so the original colours are a bit warped. 
Since I really like to 'paint' with plastic foil I chose that for my red ochre and mother of pearl colours. This stencil, the feather, is my fav one so I used that as well. A background stamp with writing creates some depth. Then I used part of a photo from the stone beaches at the island of Gotland. And then I had to improvise a bit with the letter stamps, since I don't have two of every letter. I also have a saying in latin 'Aut viam inventiam aut faciam' written in small letters by the feather. It translates: I shall either find a way or make one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.