The Daily Record

By havohej

Count Basie Basie?s Beat

Count Basie 'Basie's Beat' (Verve, 1963)

Another charity shop goodie bag item. 'Basie's Beat' sounds excellent, once again proving my expensive set up is geared to jazz and dance music more than death metal. Them's the breaks!

Whilst I can appreciate Count Basie and his undoubtedly talented band of musicians I can't help but imagine Tex Avery cartoons when I'm listening to this record. The titles of the tracks; 'Pleasingly Plump', 'Body Rumble' and 'Belly Roll' further enhance the image of a wolf's eyes popping out of his head and steam coming out of his ears whilst a female porky pig dances demurely.

It's a very nice listen but, as you can imagine, it's not really my bag. I may have my chronology slightly out but I can picture my Grampa smoking a cigarette and asking my Gran if she would like a sherry in a plush 30s nightclub with this as the soundtrack; much as my grandkids might imagine me buying Lu a Red Stripe with The Farm in the background!

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.