AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Angophora or eucalypt?

Angophora and eucalypt are both gum trees, in the Myrtaceae family. Their leaves smell the same when you crush them, but angophoras are more gnarled in form, compared to the relatively straight trunks and limbs of the eucalypts. Also, eucalyptus nuts are smooth while angophora nuts are ridged. So the one in the photo is an angophora.

So that's today's botany lesson out of the way. Being the first Thursday of the month, my bushwalking group met and we caught the train to Heathcote Station, south of Sydney, and walked 15 km or so through the Royal National Park, and popped out at Waterfall Station. On the train on the way back one of us discovered an article about a covid infected man visiting 7 venues on the weekend, one of them being my local shopping centre. I wasn't there at the same time but I've been there since. Trying not to panic but M is there now shopping for dinner because I don't want to so I'm looking forward to hearing about the 'deep cleaning'.

Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.