Stonehenge

At this time of year a visit to Stonehenge normally requires some serious consideration, not least "Am I ready to face the crowds?"  In this strange COVID-19 hit year, the main question is "Can I book a ticket?".  As a single traveller I indeed manage to book, and at a time more or less of my own choosing.

So today I headed off down the M3 / A303 in the new car to arrive just in time for elevenses.  It was disappointing that there was a queue at the ticket office, but there were still a surprising number of European tourists visiting who I guess needed more time for instructions etc., but once past that hurdle there was plenty of room and space to stay as safe as you would wish.

Most people, myself included, chose to walk the 2.6 mile circular route along a designated one-way track to the stones, and back, and after a cloudy start, the afternoon was blessed with sunny periods and blue skies.  Once at the stones the usual hoard of tourists with selfie sticks and the like was nowhere to be see - in short it was a pleasure  to circumnavigate the ring, and relatively easy to take the classic shots with minimal or no people in sight. So that is what you have got for today's blip, made of of 2 merged images!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.