Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

One Thousand Miles and Counting

Well, after 7 months and 7 days I've passed 1,000 miles of walking 'boots on' for the year.  It wasn't in any auspicious location, actually just passed Gosty Hill on the Dudley No 2 Canal between Netherton and Halesowen.  I needed to walk 7.4 miles today and despite trying to take this photograph with the watch spot on the moment of completion it didn't dwell on 7.40 miles at all.  Oh, well.

In the end I also completed my walking of the Birmingham Canal Navigation, at least as far as you can these days.  It is utterly fascinating to explore the history of the area using the canals as your thoroughfare.  Inevitably it is a history of the industrial past of the Black Country and Birmingham, particularly the coal and metal bashing industries.

Now to decide on a stretch target to keep me going until the end of 2020.

Day Miles:  13.1 miles. Total Miles: 1,005.7 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.