New reality day 10

Today's been slower on the renovation front. I painted a bit in the morning, but mostly just made room for the last shipment of our stuff that mostly came from our son's storage unit and his apartment. He was happy to get rid of some furniture and our stuff. Now he can fit in better.

We also got some pieces of furniture from my parents. Too bad the rooms that those will go into, aren't ready.

After unloading the van, my dad took us all to lunch to Nastola "city". It was very good. It felt a bit weird being out there with other people, but we were in the last corner table at least. Also heard some locals talk that the virus has not reached Nastola yet. Hopefully it will stay that way. But I doubt.

Rest of the day has been spent by sorting out more stuff. We got our Monopoly collection (I had forgotten it existed), all of our CD and some of the DVDs that I saved. I so wished during lockdown I had had my Veronica Mars box sets. Now I have them, but don't have that kind of time. But all still there for the future..

Our dogs have discovered squirrels dancing on top of the fence. They are so the watchdogs over poor squirrels. I wonder how long it takes for them to realize the dogs can't reach them.

It's been a really nice sunny and warm day. I think we reach 24-25°C. Tomorrow will be even warmer. But I'm very happy that we're not in Spain. They have extreme heat warning for some areas. 50°C for shade in the forecast. That's a record. That's a killer heat. Our area gets "only" 33, but the nights won't go past 22°C for two weeks and one night's "coolest" was 25°C. That's suffocating heat. Add the heat that the buildings store to that, and the nights are unbearable. I asked Jen how she was doing in the heat, and it wasn't good. She'd needed to go to the ER. She doesn't drink enough during the heat and she's really skinny. Last summer she was fainting all the time and just needed to stay inside and on the floor at times, I wonder how will this summer go. They still have heat for about 5-6 weeks and then it usually cools down to 26-27°C, which will feel heavenly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.