Berry picking

A message from Ruth to say their blackcurrants were ready! As with the rhubarb and the strawberries, the scheme we have is that she and Jimmy grow the fruit and I make the jam. They have as much of it as they want, which these days is very little, and we have the rest, which finds its way throughout the village!

It was really warm and muggy when I went up to their garden and the midges were out force. It started raining and I thought it would drive the little blighters away. I was wrong!

I picked five one kilo ice cream tubs full, gave one to their neighbours, left one with them and took three home for jamming! A massive crop! Big and juicy too! Came home soaked to the skin and quickly took some antihistamines to help stop the midge bites swelling up. Well worth it though.

Another neighbour bobbed round with a tub of freshly picked gooseberries! A good year for fruit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.