Skyroad

By Skyroad

Leopardstown Races

A grey day , the first in awhile. But when I drove out to Leopardstown this evening the sun broke through and everything warmed.There was a lovely mix of colour: slategrey and bright yellows. I had about an hour before going to visit my mum, then heading to the airport to collect my wife.

I hadn't intended to photograph the race, which was largely finished anyway. Races have never excited me (my affair with gambling revolved around the appropriately named one-armed-bandits). But yesterday I had noticed a funfair while driving past on the M50 motorway which passes near the racecourse. It was set up in an adjacent field: a ghost train, a ferris wheel... a bit spooky, reminded me of Bradbury's ghost/fantasy novel 'Something Wicked This Way Comes'. Especially when I got there (eventually) and dark, ominous clouds had gathered overhead. They were dismantling the props, nobody bit hardhatted workers. They didn't mind my photographing them, but I couldn't quite get at what I wanted.

The journey through the racecourse proved more rewarding (blipwise). I chose the above image because I like the way the lines of sight are sucked into that fleeting little brown blur. Also the whirling birds and dark clouds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.