In An Instant

By MrRosewarne

'Sunrise at Princess Pier'

I was up incredibly early this morning as I wanted to be down at Princess Pier in Port Melbourne to catch the sunrise, and I'm so glad I made the effort.

I woke up at 4:30am and left home by 5. By the time I had arrived at the pier it was still dark but I was beaten there by four or five fisherman each with multiple rods in the water. It was a beautiful balmy morning, but the fish weren't biting for some reason, not that any of them seemed the slightest bit upset by that.

The pier was constructed between 1912 and 1915 by the Melbourne Harbour Trust to supplement the adjacent Station Pier (originally the 'Railway Pier'). From completion in 1915 until 1969 it was also a major arrival point for new migrants, particularly during the post-war period. In addition to a pier, there was a gatehouse and barriers, terminal building, amenities rooms, goods lockers, ablution blocks, railway sidings and passenger gangways

The sun came up and lit up the old pylons so beautifully. I stayed around and watched the 'Spirit of Tasmania' pull into Station Pier and start unloading, and also a number of cargo ships passing by to go to the docks.

I was more than spoilt for choice of blips again today as I managed some great images there.

Another surprise waiting when I got home was the staff pick for my 'Magicians Hands' from last weekend, I feel truly humbled to receive this honour with all of the brilliant photographs that get uploaded on to this site everyday.

This one looks best viewed LARGE

More images from this mornings outing are HERE.

Off to my Mother in Law's tonight to celebrate Chinese New Year. I'm sure the food will be a feast and I won't need to eat for days afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.