Infrastructure

Between long teaching days, trying to learn a new organisation and a 7pm curfew, there’s not much to Blip. Today was a non-teaching day so we had two hours of training scheduled but we took more like 3 and then some sharing of ideas, a meeting and we finished about 730 my time. And I’m not quite ready for tomorrow yet. I popped out between the training and the meeting which is when I got my Blip. But so humid! It wasn’t like that when I went to get a coffee late morning. Before grabbing my coffee I had an interesting chat with M on reception. He’s from Pakistan and has also lived and worked in Bahrain. He’s always friendly and gets people, although he’d prefer to be in the back office again. He told me about politics in his country as we’d spoken briefly about Beirut. Nice to get the views that we don’t usually see in Western media.
After dinner I went to chat to R on reception. Evening shift finishes at 11.30 and with curfew they have no guests to process. It’s nice to chat for both of us. We spoke about Beirut and how she’d heard the explosion when she’d been speaking to a friend, and how her parents had felt it up in the mountains an hour’s drive. She told me of her frustration with the political system, she said they’d tried everything but murder to get rid of everyone. She loves her country; people in this region are openly patriotic but she despairs for the future. So sad to see what’s happening. She was tired and sad tonight. Rightly so, understandably so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.