Where's Jack...

...when we need him? 

John planted the beans, but we need Jack to climb the resulting stalk which has climbed a very tall bamboo pole and is now waving around at the top looking for something else to climb. There's no place to put up a ladder to harvest the beans so John is hoping he can carefully remove the pole and the vine will continue to grow closer to the ground. The bounty in the garden is very satisfying....tomatoes, peppers, eggplants all doing well right now. Basil, parsley thyme, marjoram and arugula are doing well in the cage garden outside the kitchen. It's the one place the ground squirrels haven't figured out how to breech.

I'm making a second round of masks for the people I made them for before who have either lost or worn out the originals. I think my next project will not involve the sewing machine. Maybe I'll  repaint the porch furniture. My sewing machine could use a tune-up but the woman in the one repair shop that is open told me that if it was still working, I should keep it going because they had a backlog! of 250 machines! I'm about ready for a rest myself. 

Maybe I should look up the story of Jack and the Beanstalk again. I remember that he traded the cow for a handful of beans, but i can't remember what he found after he planted the beans and climbed the resulting stalk. A pot of gold? A giant? Something worth more than a handful of beans and presumably more than a cow....
 
Clearly there's not a lot going on today...a glass of wine in the neighbor's garden will be pleasant....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.