Breaking Front

Wispy high cloud hung like veiled curtains in the blue sky as I watched the evening light dwindle towards dusk. I became aware of darker broken lines forming ahead of more dense cloud moving in from the south west which obscured the sun and flooded the scene with subtle warm tones.

As I began to photograph it became apparent I could not include the whole line of cloud in one frame even with my widest lens and it seemed an unusual enough feature to warrant recording. So, I made this image with three horizontal frames taken at 18mm and stitched in Lightroom using Perspective projection.

I always try the other projections to see which looks best. The great thing about LR Photomerge is that it produces a raw dng file that gives the same latitude in making further edits as the originals. The downside is a file so large, Lightroom slows to a crawl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.