Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Price rise!

First thing I noticed when I had a quick look at the headlines over my porridge - ‘Simon Cowell hospitalised with a broken back after falling off his e-bike’... JINGS!

The bikes were in shed, still folded, ready for popping into the boot this morning for another whizz round the park. We fiddled about, neither of us mad keen on the idea, when suddenly JR suggested, ‘Shall we go for a coffee instead?’ YES!

And so we abandoned the cycling for today. Actually, as we cycled down the long road round the park back to the car yesterday, I was whizzing along at 23mph (on my wee LCD screen) gripping the brakes to slow down, other cyclists whizzing past me, I was honestly quite terrified. It was OK going up the hill.

So we wandered along the road for a more restful coffee. But I wasn’t pleased that they’ve put the price of their flat white up from £2.70 to £3.05!!! So we won’t be frequenting them quite so often now.

Archie seems to have forgotten his objection to entering cafes over the lockdown - he came in and stood quietly under the table without complaining.

In the afternoon Christina visiting to come with us on an Archie walk through the Hermitage. We haven’t seen her since before lockdown, so it was good to catch up. 

I’m very nervous about my cycling lesson tomorrow... can he teach me to be less terrified?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.