Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cycling lesson!

My cycling instructor, Sam, arrived at the appointed time, and - even before I got on the bike - he could see my main problem straight away. My seat is far too high - but it has to be for me to be able to pedal with the limited movement of the new knees. This means I’m not in control of the bike. He has a couple of solutions, the easiest of which is to try shorter pedal thingies crank arms therefore I gain a few inches at the top of the circuit (the tightest bend) meaning I can lower the seat a bit.

Anyway, we set off down to the Links, him watching my painful progress and then pointing out a few things to improve on. I rode around him for ages, and he got me to look around properly by running along behind me shouting, ‘Can you see me?’ and I’d always just shout, ‘Yes!’ to please him. (I could see him, most times.) He raised my handlebars, which is much better too.

I was very glad when he eventually suggested calling it a day and going for a coffee. And I gave a really good three second left turn signal on the way to cafe. ‘Very good!’ from Sam, cycling behind me. He’s coming again on Wednesday and bringing the shorter pedal crank arms, which he can fit. It could make quite a difference. 

I then spent a good (but not in a good way) couple of hours on the phone, trying to get a refund back from Booking.com, ordering the spare part for the BBQ (won’t be in till October!) and also sorting out my Times subscription for a much better (cheaper) one. I felt quite accomplished after that.

JR took Archie for a big walk, and then went into town and I walked along to my BodyStreet torture session, and I’ve just walked back. I’m pretty stuffed... 

But I discovered a whole new bag of licorice I didn’t know was there. Perfect.

PS Those spotty bananas are for making banana bread tomorrow, JR informs me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.