Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

And then there were 13!

I know I keep returning to this dear little phalaenopsis but it is something of a miracle child. When it was first given to us by a dear old neighbour, who was at the time becoming increasingly eccentric, we honestly thought it was plastic and I put it in our garage and then forgot about it. I got such a shock a few weeks later when I saw that it was starting to develop buds. You will not be surprised to hear that my thumbs have rarely been accused of being green! Anyway, I was so impressed by its determination to survive that I decided to take it on as a challenge to keep it alive. It has done better than that. It has now produced 13 beautiful flowers and still has two buds ready to burst forth.

I thought it was worthy of another blip, particularly since today has been another wet and cold day and I have spent the day helping a young friend who has graduated with a law degree and who is now applying for a place in a graduate program in the Public Sector - hence no walking or opportunities to take photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.