ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

I Don’t Like Mondays

I used to like Mondays. One of the joys of being retired is knowing people are off to work on a Monday morning whilst I just laze around. But that was all spoilt in lockdown because hardly anyone went to work - on any day, never mind Mondays! And even now, with lockdown easing, there are still a considerable number of people either furloughed or working from home. And don’t tell me working from home is still proper working. As I understand it, unless there is a Zoom meeting, clothes and grooming are pretty much optional. Very similar to being retired actually.
And I really didn’t like this Monday. Forced to go to the supermarket because I’d miscalculated how much milk I’d need for the week. Temporary traffic lights at the end of the road that were not in any way synced to the normal lights just a hundred yards away, thus causing jams in both directions. Inevitably spent more than I meant to in the supermarket, but when I got home I discovered I’d picked up the wrong crisps (well, you’ve got to have treat haven’t you?), just to add insult to injury.
Finally, I had to mow the lawns on a hot and muggy afternoon as thunderstorms were forecast for later, and they really needed a cut. True to form for today, it’s now a bit cooler and no storms on the horizon.
But the main reason I don’t like Mondays is because it seems to me that after a quiet weekend on the news front, Monday is the day we get hit with the latest gloom and doom facts, figures and proposals. The most ludicrous one today is that overweight people might have to shield if there is a second wave. Presumably there will be scales at the entrance to shops to catch anyone trying to sneak out for a bag of crisps!
I think I’ll only start to believe things are getting back to normal when my neighbours are reluctantly heading off to work on Mondays whilst I roll over and go back to sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.