ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Cars

Took Mrs C’s car for an MOT today. Thought we might have had the six month government extension, but that scheme finished two weeks before it was due! Elected to wait whilst it was done when I booked it but hadn’t anticipated a) how hot it would be today and b) the government would make mask wearing mandatory in more indoor spaces from last Saturday.
Managed five minutes sat there in my mask but could barely breathe, so went outside to wait. One of the great things about country dealerships is that they are set in lovely scenery, rather than in the middle of a godforsaken industrial estate, so it was not difficult to find a bit of shade.
Whilst not having any immediate plans to change my own car, it couldn’t hurt to have a look round could it? And one of the salesmen I knew came out to join me for a chat in the sunshine. Anyway.......long story short, I was told I could take the one that caught my eye home with me for an hour or so if I wanted to show it to Mrs C and, yes, quite happy to take a motorbike and a car in part exchange.
Managed to extricate myself with wallet intact but there is a certain feeling of inevitability that we will be returning before too long to have that test drive.
Mrs C’s car passed its MOT with flying colours by the way. Almost forgotten that was the reason I went there in the first place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.