Resolutions

By RonRagsdale

Old Photos

I've been researching family history for about 40 years now, on and off, and recently I've been going through old photos that I've taken copies of from my Mom or my sister or uncle, or from online sources, and trying to catalogue and label them. It's a fun project. 

This one I had and didn't know who it was, so I sent a copy back to Mom and she called me tonight with the information: The young girl on the right is my great great grandmother, Affa Harding Goodsell, at about age 10, c. 1862. She is on her father's lap, William Hoisington Goodsell, my great great great grandfather. Next to him is his wife, my great great great grandmother, Clarissa Harding. Behind stand Affa's older sisters, Mary Elizabeth and Celinda Experience Goodsell. They lived in eastern Pennsylvania, and by the time this photo was taken, had moved westward into Illinois. They later moved to Kansas, and then to Washington state. Homesteading at each stop along the way. Affa died in Washington in 1913, aged 62. I can only imagine the stories she had to tell!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.