Lightening

WOW we are having a storm tonight.  Almost continuous thunder for more than an hour now, lightening every few seconds for nearer two hours, and some torrential rain.  

These two exposures are fractions of a second apart taken out my front door.  I never thought I'd capture lightening with a handheld exposure time without shooting hundreds of frames, but I got it on my 4th shot.  That's how frequent the strikes were, and many of them had multiple flashes.

It looks like night turned to day.  

You can get some slight impression of how heavy the rain is too.

I have NEVER seen anything like it.  Once in the central US I was in a huge thunderstorm - even at its climax there was far less thunder or lightening, although there were some bigger bangs (and a tornado tore apart a trailer park a few miles away - something I hope isn't happening in Scotland).

WOW.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.