pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

York

With the threat of thunder and lightning, my friends and I decided that on balance, standing near open water and waving carbon rods around may not be the best thing for our long term health and thus, the fishing trip to Wales was abandoned.

I very much hope that this will not be the first year that we don’t get together, as we’ve had an unbroken run of just over 10 years now.

Having booked a couple of days off anyway and in desperate need of a break from......well, everything, I found a cheap hotel deal in York city centre, slung some essentials in a bag and set off first thing this morning. The thoroughly enjoyable journey was soundtracked by Green Day - American Idiot and Kanye West - The College Dropout which are two more albums I can scratch off the 100 greatest albums list The Eldest gifted me. I must confess that I wasn’t as irritated by the Kanye West album as I was expecting to be....

York has not disappointed. It is an entirely beautiful, charming city and I thoroughly enjoyed losing myself repeatedly amongst the shambles. Having spent the majority of the last few weeks in the comfort of my own home or only venturing slightly further afield for a quiet walk or run, visiting a bustling city and being among lots of people again is just what the doctor ordered. I’d forgotten how much I love and am full of admiration for people pitching up and signing their hearts out - Billie Eilish and Elbow covers permeating the consciousness today.

With the benefit of hindsight, I should have pre-booked a couple of things, but having had a wander around the outside of the spectacular York Minster, I’ve rectified that with a booking to see what the interior holds tomorrow.

The absolute kicker for the day was a free upgrade to a nicer, bigger room overlooking The Ouse.

Going to head out shortly with a book in hand and scare up some cut price dinner courtesy of that nice chap, Rishi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.