a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Electrical Storm

WideWednesday:  Song Titles

There's a bit of a choice with song titles when it comes to weather like this:

"Electrical Storm" U2;
"Chain Lightning" Steely Dan;
"Riders on the Storm" The Doors;
"The Storm" Big Country;
"Storms" Fleetwood Mac;
and of course "Stormy Weather" by any number of fabulous singers.  (I could have added to that list rather easily but I'm sure you get the idea.)

A lot of patience has been required for tonight's blip.  It has taken me about 2 hours and easily 100 long exposure shots to get this one successful image.  Frustratingly, the weather has been all around us, but not sufficiently close for me to be able to see any fork lightning.  I have lots of shots of bits of clouds lit by sheet lightning, but they really aren't worth doing anything with.  I was just about to give up with the whole thing when I managed to take this shot.

In other news it has been another hot one here.  I was in the car earlier and the thermometer said that it was 36C - the actual measured temperature in the shade was only 32C but that really is hot for us.  The weather has however now broken and, looking at the forecast we are due for a week of rain.  That will teach me to complain about the heat!

I spoke to Dad (in the care home) earlier on over the phone.  We are not able to visit him at the moment but can ring and Skype him which is something.  He doesn't seem to have an electric razor with him and is having to be wet shaved, which he has always hated.  I'm not sure what has happened to his razor but we've ordered a new one for him as well as some nose and ear hair trimmers.  When I told him that his new grooming kit was on the way, he was absolutely delighted.  He's always been very smartly turned out and he really doesn't like being in the slightest bit unkempt.  He and I commiserated wryly with each other over the older male's  hair problem.  Not the loss of hair on the top of one's head but rather the substantially increased rates of growth in the hair on parts of one's head that one really does not want to have more hair, the back of the neck, the ears, the nose, the eyebrows etc.

I shall be writing his name on the razor in permanent marker pen to ensure that it doesn't go astray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.