Life In Wales

By KarenC

Busy Scarecrow

I worked until 1pm, had lunch with Alan and we sat as far back as we could on the terrace to get the only bit of shade! Then after lunch I set off on my journey North to mum’s.

As I drove through Rottingdean, I stopped to capture a couple more of the scarecrows - this chap had won the award for the ‘busiest scarecrow’.

My journey was awful, it was 36 degrees but I kept drIrving through areas with torrential rain, where it dropped to 22 degrees and there was lightening and the odd rumble of thunder. Then I’d drive out of it again and temperature climbed back to 36 until the next heavy shower. Oxfordshire was the worse where I had the wipers on the fastest setting but it was so heavy that the visibility was very bad. I finally arrived in Poynton at 7.30pm and stopped off at the chippy for Steak & kidney pudding, chips and gravy.

It was still very warm at 29 degrees and Poynton was buzzing with a holiday atmosphere. All the cafes and restaurants were open, all with outside tables, and the local pub had closed their car park off and have filled it with tables - what a great idea! It was honestly like the weekend though rather than a Wednesday night.

Mum’s still having problems with her leg and is struggling to walk, so I ordered a wheelchair for her and brought it up with me, so we went for a trial run - well a walk ;-) It’s only a lightweight, folding chair with small wheels, and mum’s not big, but my goodness it was hard work pushing her up any slight incline, I’m glad she’s not a big lady, but It’s good exercise though!

The storm has arrived here now and I can here thunder as I’m lay in bed typing this. Hopefully it’ll clear the air.

Four weeks today we’re supposed to be heading to the South of France, but I wonder if that travel corridor is going to be the next to close? We’ll be so disappointed if it does as we were supposed to go in July, and postponed it thinking things would be better in September. Fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.