AOG...Day 12

Day 12 of the Alternate Olympic Games.

The killdeer were out and about today, and many were entered in the triple jump (also called the hop, skip, and jump.)

They are a strange bird with strange tricks. When you get too close to their nest and babies (which they build and leave on the ground)...they play dead. They tumble on their side, hoping to confuse you. (If that doesn't work...they dive-bomb you.) The problem?

Sherrie (and her shadow) were right in the middle of the event when I pulled up in my van, and perhaps I got too close. She plopped over, playing dead...even as they were announcing her name.

"SHERRIE TO THE START LINE PLEASE!
SHERRIE TO THE START!"

But, she just kept playing dead. GET UP SHERRIE! GET UP! Finally, those in charge could wait no longer, and they went on to the next competitor.

WHY DIDN'T SHE USE HER HEAD?
WHY DID SHE KEEP PLAYING DEAD?

Do I feel bad for getting too close? Yes, I do

P.S. Lisa told me that they don't play dead...they limp around like they're hurt. I told her to stop messing up my stories. ;0).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.