Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Back

After a gap of 141 days I was back in the office. I will be working here two or three days a week for the next period of time, probably for at least the rest of this calendar year unless further lockdowns effect things.

At the moment work is still very quiet. I will share this whole section with only one other person during this phase, although there is another larger area of open plan office attached which will have other teams. All teams have been split into two bubbles so that if we have to go into self-isolation we’re not all  affected at the same time. You’ll notice that we have been furnished with perspex dividers and floor zonings. It’s a wonder that our conker installation has survived through this period. The building as a whole is very quiet still but that will be very different in a months time when in some shape or form there will be students about. 

Of course the commute was also a big change to routine. Since March I’ve relied solely on my feet for getting places, so getting on trains and traveling to a different city was a big change. The trains were more or less at their (socially distanced) capacity. I expect they will get busier week by week, and that might create issues, but for the moment I could get on and sit in a socially distanced way.

Other than at the station, Leeds seemed very quiet. Very few cars on the roads to usual for a work day, and few pedestrians. The university quarter is even quieter - I think we may be the only one of the three universities that sit next to each other to have reopened so far. 

With all the travel it was a draining day, but I did still fit in another visit to Salts FC on my way home. Salts secured a comfortable pre-season victory, 6-1 over Leeds-based Yorkshire Amateur League team Grangefield Old Boys. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.