Summer Stocks

Oh what a relief today. Thick cloud cover stopped the heat and we even had a smattering of rain. Baz and I were in the Outwoods when the first shower started. I sat down on a handy seat to listen to and experience it. Baz wasn't bothered. He just pootered about. The ground is parched.

I feel so much more energetic with the cooler weather. Well, energetic is perhaps not quite the right word, but I get more done.

Some argument about where we should go on Sunday to have lunch with George, Kat and William. Finally decided on Oakley Grange but I had to go up there to find out what the arrangements are. I left Baz behind because of this.

No indoor seating at all but as well as outdoor seating, the neighbouring cowshed has been opened up which can provide shelter from summer heat as well as rain. Not the ambience of inside but a very welcome solution. I hope it continues so that I can take Baz there undercover another time.

Took this photo on my return. I bought the stocks in Sainsbury's in Leicester on Monday intending to photograph them. It's just been too hot. I have found the two stands and the pole between them to create a stand which I've set up in the conservatory. Very satisfactory and more flexible than my Argos stand.

The stocks are beginning to go off. They smell fetid, probably because the water needed refreshing, which I have done. They looked good enough for today's exercise.

I have added a texture using the Color blending option in Photoshop. I like the result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.