simisue

By simisue

GIRL GIRL WILD THING ABSTRACT

Today was a day to celebrate.  I picked my first ripe 
GIRL GIRL WILD THING Tomato.  (see EXTRA)  My experiment with 
wrapping it with a plastic, net bag actually worked, keeping it safe from the voracious critters.  I am not so sure my Abstract did, though. 

Our son grows heirloom tomato plants from seed, & he gave me 20 plants last Spring.  I only kept 3 & gave the rest away.  This GIRL GIRL WILD THING is the plant that is doing the best.  In fact, I have added several
structures to support all the branches full of tomatoes.  It is growing so tall, it may grow over the wall into my neighbor's yard.   She may need to add a trellis on her side.

This type of tomato is a hybrid of some sort that gives it that beautiful striped color on the outside & the blood red color on the inside.  Everything about it is unexpected, except the glorious taste.  The original 
grower knew she was on to something when her dog, GIRL GIRL 
kept stealing the tomatoes as soon as they were ripe. I wonder if  this is the only tomato named after a dog.  

Our son is coming to visit this weekend with our grandson, so I will make a CAPRESE SALAD with this beauty.  Maybe others will ripen, so he can take them home.  That is unless Angus & Scout get the Girl Girl memo.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.