Bookclub

I had my first socially isolated Bookclub meeting - our first meeting since February. Although we had been exchanging book suggestions in the interim, this was our first meeting post Covid. I used this picture of the book as it calls it ‘a romance’. It is normally referred to as a detective novel. It’s disputed as to wether it’s the first one, as Poe published a short story detective tale prior to this, but Collins was the first to employ lots of the devices taken up by all writers of this genre. Misdirection, bumbling policemen etc. Sadly (for technical reasons) the copy I had in audio from the RNIB only started at chapter 45 so I missed half of it. But some of my fellow readers assured me that this was a good thing! Bearing in mind that this set a trend for all detective story writers who followed him, it’s an impressive book, but it got very mixed reviews from the group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.