Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

When you get too many pears

Someone gave me a basket of pears from an old tree in their yard and I knew we would not ever eat all of them.  So I found a recipe for slow cooker pear preserves.   A little brown sugar, cinnamon (I also used some pumpkin pie spice and some whole cloves) and pears.   Very easy.  I peeled all the pears except six and put them in the cooker about 9am.   I sure wish you all could have smelled that aroma when they started cooking! 

So I am thinking these may not even get in the jars.  Some are going to be mixed with a few dried cranberries and eaten over the vanilla ice cream we have left.   They taste so good we will just eat them out of a bowl.    These are nothing like the pear preserves my mom used to make which I really didn't like because they were so awful sweet.   

Thankful for bounty from someone's garden!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.