A classic Portobello evening

Nothing spectacular about it. The weather was dull and overcast but it wasn't raining and relatively mild. Not deserted but not too busy either. Little groups all along the beach huddled around bonfires. A few brave swimmers. At the Joppa bandstand the apparently now regular 'not-the Dal' session was in full swing. All very ordinary and yet, it just felt good being able to walk out the front door and be on the sand in a matter of moments. I saw a family I knew across the sand and we waved hellos and then on my way back saw another friend at the cake stand where she was catching up with a friend over a glass of wine. Although I didn't know the friend it turned out I had photographed her at the Portobello BLM protest back in June. The ordinary feeling extraordinary, like a Carol Shields novel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.