Day Today

By Feathers14

Relief

This is Andy and he's looking pretty happy in this picture. I imagine it's because he's had quite a weight lifted from his shoulders, as he is no longer PhotoSoc's Social Sec.

He's free to drink as much as he wants as early in the night as he wants... He doesn't have to book restaurants for tables of 48 and he doesn't have to spend countless hours looking through photographs of questionable quality from disposable cameras attempting to decipher just which of the 25 challenge was being ticked off, in each exposure. They're all pretty good reasons to smile.

After fighting off the hangover of last night, I wandered into Leam with Eve to go meet Axel for breakfast at Spoons. £5 of greasy food definitely fuelled me up for the rest of the day.

As if that wasn't unhealthy enough, we walked up to North Leam to chill at Axel's, taking a detour via the American Candy store that's in Royal Priors. There is a lot of choice. Too much choice. I blew £5 on some Oreos (double stacked chocolate-mint) and a hazelnut KitKat that basically tasted exactly like a Kinda Bueno.

At Axel's we relived the events of the previous night and then discussed what was coming in the next year for, not only for PhotoSoc, but for all of us. Not to get all lame, but it's starting to get to the stage of uni and life where decisions made are going to affect the rest of your life. At least it seems like that at the moment. Ask me again in 6 months and I'll tell you something different.

Post sugar-crash, Eve and I walked back down to hers and got ready for the Coffee Social on campus (where this picture was snapped). The winners of the PhotoSox exhibition were announced (congrats to Coco, Tom and Zhi) and the photos were passed around. Holding the physical prints has made me really appreciate film photography. Obviously I interacted with film prints when I was younger, but when your only memory of getting films developed is that most of the pictures you get back are complete shit with half your Dad's head cut off, it's easy to dismiss film in favour of digital. I can really see the appeal of film more and more.

All the drinks were finished and after I'd caught up with some people, and Eve had caught up with everyone we headed back to Leam courtesy of Shane. The plan had been for Eve and I to grab a meal at Wagamama's, but Wagamama's operates the most retarded reservation system in the world; you can't book a table unless you're in a group of 6 or more... Anything less and you just have to turn up and wait. For a Japanese restaurant, they haven't adopted the Japanese mindset of common-fucking-sense.

Instead we grabbed a meal at Zizzi's and I had the most bizarre, tastiest pizza mashup thing: Ham, mascarpone cheese, pumpkin and crushed amaretti biscuits. A definite winner, right there.

I'm pretty useless at picking meals in restaurants (#first-world-problems) because whatever dish turns up for the other person, I always get buyers remorse, and tonight was no different.

Lots of talking. Lots and lots of talking.

After we just chilled catching up on the latest episodes of Suits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.